Week in Review – 17th to 22nd October 2011

Hugely delayed, here I go with another week in review post… I’ll try and get this week’s review up tomorrow.

 

Writing

Not a bad week with a couple of “writing” days off, although obviously I was still working on rereads, polishing and publishing.

Sunday – 2426

Monday – 3055

Tuesday – 2452

Wednesday – 0

Thursday – 2516

Friday – 2526

Saturday – 0

My weekly total is: 12975

Much of this has been spent on the same two projects as last week – Episode One of my new serial novella series, The Order, and the first book in a science fiction space opera currently referred to as Restoration. I also finally got back to adding some words to an ongoing short story titled The Faerie Lady of Pinedale.

Next week I should finish The Order so I’ll probably concentrate on Restoration and some new short stories, most of which I’m going to put up for free on Smashwords and Amazon.

 

Publishing

One publication this week:

The Day We Sold Our Children

 

Available from Amazon.com and Smashwords.com

In other news, I have made a decision based on a blog post by indie author David Barron – from now on, my short stories will be put up for free as they are published and I will only charge for them in collections. The financial impact is minimal (ah, trust Excel spreadsheets, how I do love you) and I’m hoping that they will act as free advertising instead. I’ll let you know how the experiment goes.

 

Reading

This week, I finished:

Naamah’s Kiss by Jacqueline Carey

(One of my favourite fantasy authors who does a fine job of updating her Terre d’Ange world in this new trilogy following a half d’Angeline, half Alban girl. Magic plays a larger part in this than many of the others and although the main character, Moirin’s, voice is less special than that of Phedre and Imriel, she is still an interesting character and one that you come to care for. I look forward to getting around to the second book sometime in the next few months.)

Shattered Light: Star Trek Myriad Universes 3 by Various Authors

(I love this series of novella collections, each of which shows us the Star Trek universe as it might have been if things had gone slightly differently. This is probably the weakest of the three collections, although the stories are still intriguing. In “The Embrace of Cold Architects”, Will Riker kills Captain Picard when he is captured by the Borg, but it is the early creation of Data’s daughter Lal that sets off the actual diversion. This one ends rather abruptly, leaving you wondering what the whole purpose of the story actually was. “The Tears of Eridanus” posits a Federation without Vulcans, because the Vulcans have been without the teachings of Sarek. I enjoyed seeing this different universe, especially the Andor-centric Interstellar Union, a nice counterpoint to the fact that Star Trek is very human-centric in the show. However, some of the parts with Demora Sulu dragged a little. The final story, “Honor in the Night” was my favourite. When the Trouble with Tribbles goes differently, a minor character – Nilz Baris – becomes a key figure of Federation politics. The differences are relatively minor, but seeing Bajor under the control of the Klingons was fun. I also found the story itself to be a very clever mixture of scenes, following a journalist who is interviewing people to discover the truth about Nilz Baris, interweaved with flashback scenes. I think I might steal the format for a story of my own. All in all, worth reading for the final story alone.)

The Strain by Guillermo Del Toro & Chuck Hogan

(An interesting take on the vampire mythos coupled with disaster movies and medical thrillers. The Strain reads like a blockbuster movie augmented bydelToro’s horror sensibility. I will probably read the follow-up, though the Strain didn’t really blow me away.)

Equal Rites by Terry Pratchett

(Third in the Discworld universe. You can tell that Pratchett was still finding his feet with these stories at this point, as they lack the subtlety and fantastic worldbuilding of the later books. The story holds together, though, and the ending is a riotous explosion of action.)

The Red Wolf Conspiracy by Robert V.S Redick

(The first book in a high fantasy series, Red Wolf develops an interesting world with some interesting characters, but which didn’t really gel with me. It took me a while to get into it enough to want to finish it, although I have to say that the ending was worth it and left me wanting to read the rest. I just felt that the book dragged quite a bit and it seemed that certain events could have been wrapped up much more quickly. Still, not a bad read.)

 

Television

Finally caught up with the last two episodes of Supernatural – great to see Sam getting back to the character we all know and love, but unfortunate to have another potential splinter in the relationship between the two brothers. Then again, what is better than a little tension in the family?

 

Life

My son continues to charm and amaze us. He’s such a happy little lad, constantly smiling and making cute little noises that must mean something to him even though at the moment we can’t decipher them. Still no teeth though…

Posted on October 29, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

